Hamilton, or ‘Why I’ve Sold My Soul To See This Show’

Disclaimer: I did not really sell my soul for Hamilton tickets. I’m also pretty sure that a soul doesn’t have a high enough market value to get you tickets to Hamilton. Especially not if those tickets are from the resale market. Do not try to sell your soul to get Hamilton tickets. Even if it does work, it’s probably a bad decision in the long run.

So anyway. Hamilton. I saw it back in October, and it was a fantastic experience. And now I’ll be seeing it again in May. I’m super excited, and I got the tickets at a bargain. All they cost me was my firstborn child.

Kidding, again. No one’s going to pay me for the privilege of having to raise a yet-nonexistent newborn, and they’re certainly not going to part with their Hamilton tickets for that. No, I paid the appallingly overpriced resale value instead. But luckily, I nabbed my tickets a few weeks before tickets for that night made their way into 4-digit prices.

Why would I do such a thing? Well, after my first time seeing the show, I was a little excited. By which I mean I chattered about the show nonstop (NONSTOP!) to anyone would listen and quite a few people who tried very hard not to listen. Most of my friends politely tolerated me and assured me in soothing tones that of coooooourse they would listen to the soundtrack as they backed away slowly. One friend finally really got kind of interested after watching Hamilton’s Grammy performance, but that interest never went much beyond “Oh, yeah, that actually seems like a cool show!”

One friend in particular, though, took an actual interest. Like, a lot of interest. I loved it, because I could tell her all the random trivia and nonsense I know about the show, the actors, and Alexander Hamilton and she actually cared. And one day in February, she suddenly texted me and told me she was going to see Hamilton. I was thrilled. I mean, finally I would know someone else who’s seen it in person! And then I got an idea. I could go see it again, too. So I texted her back and told her to let me know when she was looking at going, and she informed me that she expected me to go, too.

So that settled that. I had an excuse, and we booked the trip two days later. I’ve had about a dozen people question that decision, and ask me why I “wasted” so much money to see the show again–and this is after getting grief for weeks about how much I spent the first time, too. But the thing is…Hamilton is important. For so many reasons. And I consider myself extremely lucky to have seen the original cast, and even luckier to have the opportunity to see it again with most of the main cast (Groff, you were phenomenal and it’s sad that you’ve gone. Best of luck to O’Malley, King George III the Fourth! I look forward to seeing your performance!). Being in the Richard Rodgers Theater and seeing that show…it’s an experience that’s difficult to describe. I’ve seen quite a few shows over the years–some on Broadway, most in Chicago–and even though I’ve loved almost all of them, Hamilton feels different. The atmosphere in the theater is different. And I don’t want to miss a single opportunity to see the show and be even just a tiny, tiny part of the phenomenon that this show is. Which is why I’ll be seeing it in Chicago shortly after it opens this fall as well. I want to see how an entirely different cast breathes life into the characters just as much as I want to keep seeing the original cast’s performances.

~Sofia

One thought on “Hamilton, or ‘Why I’ve Sold My Soul To See This Show’

  1. Pingback: Adventures in NYC: Part I- Anticipation | Sofia Black

Leave a Reply

