Of Timelines and Travel

Currently listening to The Hamilton Original Broadway Cast Album

God I love this show’s soundtrack. I mean, really–have you listened to it yet? You probably should. Normally, I would say that rap/hip-hop/R&B are so not my kind of music. But damn. It is an impressive album. Up until a couple of days ago, I barely even knew Hamilton was a show at all. I was vaguely aware that there was a lot of hype around the musical, and that I’d heard that tickets were unbelievably difficult to get. I’m pretty sure I also knew that the music was…a bit unconventional for Broadway.

I took a listen to a couple of the songs on Thursday, and I’ve been obsessed with the show ever since. I streamed the entire soundtrack last night, refusing to go to sleep until I’d listened to the whole album. All 46 tracks. This afternoon, I bought the soundtrack, and I’m listening to it (to “Right Hand Man”, to be specific) right now. Why am I going on about Hamilton? Well, next week, I head to New York for a couple of days. The show I’ve already got a ticket to is Finding Neverland, and I’m so excited to see it. But what else am I going to do? Well, I’ll get in to the city at around 3:30pm or so, and I don’t have a ticket for a show for that night. I’m going to buy a cheaper ticket to Something Rotten, or maybe Aladdin. But that’s not what I’m really hoping to see that night. No. I’m going to hang out outside of the Richard Rodgers Theater to enter the lottery for a ticket to Hamilton. And watch the Ham4Ham show–a little mini-performance of whatever kind Lin-Manuel Miranda and his friends (or other Broadway stars) decide to present–that takes place before the lottery drawing.

And I’ve got a new deadline in place for my writing, but it’s not for the manuscripts I’m working on. Instead, I’m doing some formatting changes to Songstruck in preparation for getting a new cover designed. The deadline? Wednesday night, before my New York trip. If I hit that deadline, I can take my little vacation free from any worry or unfinished business. The cover design would be done sometime at the beginning of December, I think, so my new timeline for the sequel is to have the first draft finished by the end of November, and preliminary edits finished by the end of December so I can start getting other sets of eyes on it.

~Sofia

Leave a Reply

