Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

Currently listening to: Yellow Flicker Beat, by Lorde

Hello, again! I’m back, and ready to get back to blogging (and writing!). My sister’s wedding was lovely, by the way. Here are a few highlights:

  1. My new sister-in-law’s younger sister and I frantically trying to find out where we were supposed to stand right before we were told to walk down the aisle
  2. Both of us also tripping on our way down the aisle (not our fault- there was this grate thing that they covered up with a long carpet but covering holes with a carpet doesn’t do much when you’re wearing stilettos)
  3. Both brides insisting on wearing shoes that were a fabulous mixture of “amazing” and “medieval torture device”, and steadfastly refusing to take them off, blood and blisters be damned
  4. My sister and her wife-to-be both sobbing and laughing like goofballs when they were exchanging their vows
  5. Fathers dancing in the embarrassing way only fathers can

And now, with all of that over and done with, and all of the centerpieces, clothing, and random decorations and such finally mailed out to my sister (my mother and I took custody of it all after the wedding since my sister was flying back to where she lives), I have some breathing room. Which means that I can turn my attention to some other important things. School, for one thing, but more importantly…

NANOWRIMO 2014

That’s right-NaNoWriMo. Also known as National Novel Writing Month. The project I “won” with last year turned into an entire novel, and I’m hoping to repeat that. Of course, that will mean months and months of editing, gathering beta readers, and more editing, but that’s down the line. For now, my focus will be on the main goal of NaNoWriMo: writing 50,000 words in 30 days, starting November 1st. It’s going to be crazy, and I can’t wait to get started.

~Sofia

Leave a Reply

